2024 LSWA Class 3A All-State Basketball Teams Revealed

by Jake Martin // Written for the LSWA 

History defining seasons helped position players and coaches atop the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 3A All-State basketball teams. 

Wossman, led by the squad’s Outstanding Player Danaya Ross, became the first team from Ouachita Parish to record a three-peat in the modern 5-on-5 era of girls basketball. 

Church Point coach Jamal Broussard also set a new standard for girls basketball at his school to earn 3A Coach of the Year honors. 

Also, Marksville’s Jamal Perkins coached his school to its first state championship in any sport. Iowa’s Dashawn Ceaser took the state by storm before Wossman defeated the Yellow Jackets in the Division II nonselect title game. 

Ross averaged 14.6 points per game, 5.5 rebounds, five assists and 3.3 steals, despite sitting in the second half of several contests with a running clock. Ross was one of four staples starters on a Wossman team that captured three championships in a row. 

Broussard led Church Point to its first district title and first semifinal berth. South Beauregard eliminated Church Point in the semifinal. CPHS played without senior Shaine Parker, who was averaging a team-high 16 points and 13 rebounds before being sidelined by a concussion. 

Along with bringing the school its first state championship, Perkins led Marksville back to the LHSAA tournament for the first time in nearly two decades. The Tigers’ last trip to the state tournament came in 2006. 

Iowa’s Ceaser electrified crowds in gyms throughout the state with his 22.1 points per game and 63 made 3-pointers this season. He finished with 1,908 career points and led the team in charges taken and steals. 




Player School Ht. Cl. Avg. 

Dashawn Ceaser Iowa 6-3 Sr. 22.1 

Desamonte Gradney Iowa 6-3 Sr. 20 

Krystian Lewis Wossman 6-2 Sr. 18.3 

Lavion Owens Carroll 6-3 Sr. 17 

Jayce Depron Madison Prep 6-5 Sr. 21 


Player School Ht. Cl. Avg. 

Ron Patterson Bunkie 5-8 So. 18.4 

Devin Lavalais Marksville 5-11 Fr. 15 

Jordan Comanche Wossman 6-5 Sr. 14.1 

Devonte Landry Sophie B. Wright 6-3 Sr. 24.8 

Rayien Oatis Donaldsonville 6-0 Sr. 16 



HONORABLE MENTION: Carlos Brooks, Patterson; M.J. Sternfels, E.D. White; Blane Parish, Buckeye; Zy Hunter, Jena; Trushaad Bush, University; Cornelius Brown, Kennedy; Cooper Nelson, Sterlington; Antron Mason II, Wossman; Treylan Neal, Carroll; Lebron Deal, Carroll; Xzander Washington, Richwood; Trey Lane, Richwood; Elijah Garrick, Lake Charles College Prep; Logan Young, South Beauregard; Floyd Flugence, Crowley; Joshua Smith, Madison Prep; Cooper Coates, University; TJ Garrett, Pine; Tavorian Hart, Albany. 



Player School Ht. Cl. Avg. 

Caroline Adams E.D. White 5-7 Sr. 19.7 

Carlesia Fields Bunkie 5-7 Sr. 26 

Danaya Ross Wossman 5-8 Sr. 14.6 

Paige Hawkins Madison Prep 5-6 Jr. 17 

Addyson Bernhard Parkview Baptist 5-6 Sr. 14.8 


Player School Ht. Cl. Avg. 

Ramiah Augurson Wossman 6-0 Jr. 12.1 

Kenzie Hudler South Beauregard 6-0 Sr. 20 

D’Jaiyah Levy Abbeville 5-8 Sr. 24 

Ava Shields Albany 5-11 Sr. 15.8 

Hai’ley Brumfield Amite 5-5 Sr. 16 

OUTSTANDING PLAYER: Danaya Ross, Wossman 

COACH OF THE YEAR: Jamal Broussard, Church Point 

HONORABLE MENTION: Gabby Guillory, Westlake; Jaya Gradney, Iowa; Shaine Parker, Church Point; Leah Varisco, Sacred Heart; Kennedy Aldridge, University; Emily Cortez, E.D. White; Raniyah Tillman, Patterson; Azyria Garrison, Berwick; Anyra Wilson, Wossman; Brittany Burton, Wossman; Kaelyn Gunter, South Beauregard, Ery’ul Johnson, Church Point; Sage Wimberly, Iota; Brooklyn Smith, Madison Prep; Anna Richerson, Parkview Baptist; Kylee Savant, Doyle; Miracle Irving, Amite; Taylor Lee, University.