National Football Foundation Names Six Louisiana Teams To Academic Excellence Awards List

The 2022-23 National Football Foundation National High School Academic Excellence Awards, which go to the top academic football teams from each level of play within each state, were presented to six teams from Louisiana Thursday morning.

Among those honored were Benton High School (Class 5A), Brother Martin (Class 5A), Dutchtown High School (Class 5A), St. Thomas More (Class 4A), Iowa High School (Class 3A) and Ouachita Christian (Class 1A).

The six programs were among 60 teams honored and will vie as finalists for the NFF Hatchell Cup, presented by “The Original” Bob’s Steak & Chop House, which will be announced Feb. 8 and recognizes the top individual high school football team in the nation for excellence in the classroom, on the field and in the community.

“Academic and athletic success go hand-in-hand,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning. “We are proud to recognize these 60 outstanding high school football teams as the top academic performers in their states. These schools, coaches, players and their families should all be incredibly pleased with their accomplishments, and we look forward to announcing the overall winner of the Hatchell Cup on February 8. We hope by inspiring teams to compete in the classroom with the same competitive spirit that it takes to win on the field, we will better prepare high school football players for success later in life.”

Eligibility requirements for the NFF National High School Academic Excellence Awards include:

  • A minimum cumulative team GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.
  • Superior academic application and performance.
  • Successful football season.