LSWA Releases 2023 Class 3A All-State Football Squad

Written for the LSWA 

St. James quarterback Brayden Williams and St. Louis Catholic linebacker Graham Montet’s memorable senior seasons made a huge impact. 

Their play on the field earned each player a top honor on the LSWA’s Class 3A All-State football team, a squad selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state. 

Williams, who guided St. James to a Division III non-select state runner-up finish, was named the Outstanding Offensive Player. 

Graham Montet, who played a major role in St. Louis’ reaching the Division II select regional round, earned Outstanding Defensive Player 

Union Parish’s Joe Spatafora won the Coach of the Year after leading the Farmers to the Division III non-select state championship. 

Williams stood out for St. James, finishing his senior year completing 167-of-266 passes for 2,670 yards, 32 touchdowns and only seven interceptions. He led the team in rushing with 749 yards on 130 carries and 17 touchdowns. He completed 62.8% of his passes. 

Montet set St. Louis’ career tackles record in his final season. He finished with 103 total tackles with 7.5 tackles for a loss, four pass breakups, three forced fumbles, two blocked punts and an interception. He also contributed on offense with 99 rushes for 670 yards and 12 touchdowns. He passed for two touchdowns, and he had 11 kick returns for 300 yards. 

Spatafora helped Union Parish win its first state title since 2013. The Farmers finished as a state runner-up for three straight years before ending that streak with a 36-35 win over St. James in the state championship game. 



Pos player school ht wt cl 

WR Seth Gale University 5-9 160 Sr. 

WR Kobe Brown St. James 5-10, 160, Sr. 

WR Brock Comeaux, Parkview Baptist, 5-8, 170, Jr. 

OL Eli Head, Caldwell Parish, 6-5, 285, Sr. 

OL John Hebert, University, 6-2, 260, Jr. 

OL Josh Moy, Union Parish, 6-2, 305, Jr. 

OL Mitch Hodnett, Sterlington, 6-6, 295, Sr. 

OL Deuce Williams, St. James, 6-2, 315, Sr. 

QB Brayden Williams, St. James, 6-0, 175, Sr. 

RB Zerrick Jones, Jena, 5-8, 180, Sr. 

RB Jymarion Island, Union Parish, 5-8, 180, Sr.  

RB Javion Reese, Northwest, 5-7, 200, Sr. 

PK Landon Daughdril, St. Louis, 5-10, 170, Sr. 

ATH Jake Sternfels, E.D. White Catholic, 5-10, 170, Sr. 


Pos player school ht wt cl 

DL Jaydon Williams, Wossman, 6-3, 290, Sr. 

DL Nick Chopin, St. James, 6-1, 215, Sr. 

DL Mackenzie Ardoin, Northwest, 6-5, 215, Sr. 

DL Nickolas Thomas, Kennedy, 6-0, 247, Sr. 

LB Adrian Prean, St. James, 6-1, 245, Sr. 

LB Tyquerius Wilson, Union Parish, 5-11, 175, Jr. 

LB Harry Beacham, University, 6-1, 220, Sr. 

LB Graham Montet, St. Louis, 5-11, 201, Sr. 

DB Demariyon “De” Hammock, Jena, 5-10, 140, Sr. 

DB Jarrell Williams, St. James, 6-0, 170, Jr. 

DB Erick Franklin, Lake Charles College Prep, 5-10, 180, Sr. 

DB Bernard Causey, Kennedy, 6-0, 157, Sr. 

P Granville Anderson, University, 5-10, 180, Sr. 

KR James Evans, Kennedy, 5-9, 145, Jr. 

ATH Keylon Moses, University, 6-3, 220, Jr. 




Honorable mention

Lamar Brown, University; Tahj Judge, Abbeville; Adam Brodnax, Buckeye; JD Smith, Bunkie; Donnie Brooks, Caldwell Parish; QJ Donald, Caldwell Parish; Laramie Guidry, University; Zy Hunter, Jena; Triston McClendon, Jena; Kaden Zenon, St. Martinville; Luke Mere, St. Louis Catholic; Jordan Davis, St. Louis Catholic; Cole Corbello, Iowa; Josiah Bushnell, Iowa; Luke Guillory, Iowa; Damian Reed, Iowa; ReJohn Zeno, Jennings; Logan LeBeouf, Kinder; Donte Botley, Kinder, Trammell Colvin, Sterlington; Will Wactor, Sterlington; Jackson King, Sterlington; Tomorrio Bilberry, Union; Richard Wilson, Wossman; Taylor Thibodaux, E.D. White; Paxton Lafont, E.D. White; Kyle Johnson, Bunkie; Haidyn Boone, Buckeye; Dylan Callahan, Iota; Cullen Charles, St. Martinville; James Evans, Kennedy; Laramie Guidry, University; Austin Hebert, Iota; Luke Guillory, Iowa; Zach Guin, E.D. White; Gage Vercher, Buckeye; Aiden Palmer, Jena; Lamar Brown, University; Will Wactor, Sterlington; Xavier Levine, Abbeville; Curtis Harrison, Northwest; Damian Reed, Iowa; Abram Johnston, Parkview Baptist; Peyton Renfro, Iota; Josiah Bushnell, Iowa; Tont Lewis, Madison Prep; A’myne Darensbourg, Kennedy; Jim Burlew, Buckeye; Kyreon Prier, Marksville; Christopher Jackson, Glen Oaks; Steven Blanco, St. Martinsville; Brennan Gibson, Port Allen; Re’John Zeno, Jennings; Aiden Parker, Sterlington; Ty Powell, E.D. White; Dillon Compton, Bunkie; Demerion Dupas, Marksville; Riley Small, University; Zaylun Williams, Abbeville; Kade Nugent, St. Louis; Zion Lee, Bunkie; Jacob Belcher, Jena; Jackson King, Sterlington; Davon Thibodeaux, Northwest; Matthew Escher, E.D. White; Elidrick Murray, Marksville; Tomorrio Bilberry, Union Parish; Richard Wilson, Wossman; Joseph Davis, Abbeville.