west ouachita chiefs

District 2-5A · West Monroe, LA

football schedule

Players To Watch

Antonio FordRB5-111904.5Sr
Cayden TolbirdLB6-22254.6Sr
Garrett VarnellOL6-5290N/ASr

Last 5 Seasons

YearClassWinsLossesPlayoff Finish

About the Team

Head Coach: Mike Rainwater, 3rd season (8-13, all at West Ouachita)

Returning Lettermen: 11

Returning Offensive Starters: 6

Returning Defensive Starters: 5

Lettermen Lost: 11

Playoff Appearances: 1994, 1995, 1996, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2014, 2015, 2019, 2022

Team roster

West Ouachita is coming off its best season in recent years but the goal is to bottle up that momentum and carry it into what hopes to be a promising 2023 campaign with 11 total starters returning.

A season removed from their first playoff season in three years, the Chiefs have added additional goals to their plate, including making a dent in the iron curtain which is the contingent of District 2-5A foes such as West Monroe, Alexandria and Ruston.

Mike Rainwater's squad will lean on all-district running back Antonio Ford, who has offers from Louisiana Tech and ULM as well as junior quarterback Sam Ozark. Ford returns over 1,400 yards of rushing from 2022 while Ozark passed for 550 yards and seven touchdowns. Anchoring down the offensive line is senior Garrett Varnell, whose 6-5, 300-pound frame looks to give the Chiefs a solid right tackle going into the 2023 football season.

Leading the defense are junior Luke Jones and the linebacker corps as well as returning all-district cornerback Corey Toston and senior linebacker Hayden Tolbird.