2023 LSWA Class 3A All-State Baseball & Softball Teams Released

BY CHRIS SINGLETON // Written for the LSWA

The Louisiana Sports Writers Association Class 3A all-state baseball and softball teams was highlighted by several key contributors who led their teams to historic LHSAA state championships.

Kaplan junior softball player Kennedy Marceaux was named the Class 3A Outstanding Player. Kaplan coach Brittany LeBeouf earned Coach of the Year Honors. Doyle senior Peyton Woods was voted the Outstanding Player on the baseball squad, while E.D. White coach Matthew Plitt claimed Coach of the Year honors.

Marceaux is an Alabama commitment who plays infield, hit .655 with 22 home runs, 22 doubles, 3 triples, 72 RBIs and 28 stolen bases. She  LeBeouf coached Kaplan the Division III nonselect title, its first since 2016 and second in school history.

Kaplan defeated Sterlington 4-0 in the Division II non-select state finals.

Doyle’s Woods was 11-0 as a pitcher and struck out 106 in 76 innings pitched with a 1.20 ERA, leading to a Division II non-select runner-up finish. He batted .480 with a 6.23 OPS, nine doubles, four triples, four HR and 40 RBI. He is a Jones County Community College signee.

Plitt led the Cardinals win their sixth overall state baseball championship and first since 2001 in his first season as the EDW head coach. The Cardinals beat Vandebilt Catholic 6-2 in the Division II select state title game. EDW infielder Matthew Melancon and utility Brendan Gaubert made the 3A squad.

Division III nonselect champion Berwick placed pitcher Hayden Robinson, outfielder Cru Bella and utility Dawson Richard. Berwick defeated Doyle 4-2 in the Division III non-select state finals. The Panthers won their first title since 2018 and third overall.



P Sterling Sims Sterlington Jr. 9-1

P Peyton Woods Doyle Sr. 11-0

P Camden Sunstrom University So. 7-1

P Hayden Robinson Berwick Sr. 6-4

C Jake LaRocca St. Louis Sr. .412

IF Collin McKenzie North Webster Sr. .549

IF Lucas Alexander Iowa So. .355

IF Zoyle Gemar Jena So. .439

IF Matthew Melancon E.D. White Sr. .490

OF Griffin Cooley Kinder Sr. .462

OF Landon Schmitz Kinder Sr. .385

OF Cru Bella Berwick Sr. .336

UTL Caiden Barcia Doyle Jr. 5-1

UTL Jace Duhon South Beauregard Jr. 9-1

UTL Brant Melancon Parkview Baptist Jr. .372

UTL Brendan Gaubert E.D. White Sr. .492

UTL Dawson Richard Berwick Sr. .336



Honorable mention

Haidyn Boone, Buckeye; Adam Brodnax, Buckeye; James Reina, St. Louis; Reed Dupre, Iowa; Lynkon Romero, Erath; Rhyder Burke, Union Parish; Reid Snider, St. Louis; Braxton Comeaux, E.D. White; Dathan Cummings, Doyle; Jacob Belcher, Jena; Easton Bruscato, Sterlington; KeMonni Pullard, St. Louis; Seth Herron, Bolton; Jacob Belcher, Jena; Carter Carraway, South Beauregard; Cade Durbin, Parkview Baptist; Jayden Milton, Berwick. Brayden Guillory, Kinder; Ethan Koonce, Westlake; Luke Brister, South Beauregard; Kennedy Leggett, St. Louis: Landon Langley, Iowa; Jayden Randazzo, Albany; Brayden Knight, Albany; Zack Gonazles, Berwick; Mason Johnston, Berwick; Jax Triche, E.D. White; Andre Mahler, St. James; Chris Gravois, St. James; Brylon Jennings, Patterson; Brennan Keen, Jena; Jacob Pentecost, Jena; John Michael Eves, Bunkie; Kennedy “KP” Paul, Bolton; Brennan Paige, Bolton; Steven Graffeo, Haynes Academy. Sr.


P Olivia Henry Buckeye Jr. 18-7

P Briley LeBeouf Kaplan Jr. 23-6

P Brianna Fontenot Kinder So. 17-6

P Maddie Taylor Sterlington Jr. 19-5

C Kamryn Howard Iowa Sr. .361

IF Mhallayah Picou St. James Jr. .618

IF Maddie Sinclair Buckeye Sr. .437

IF Kennedy Marceaux Kaplan Jr. .655

IF Kassidy Rivero Doyle So. .398

OF Noble Hebert Kaplan Sr. .430

OF Addison Contorno Doyle Sr. .435

OF Kamryn Broussard Iowa Sr. .505

UTL Brilee Ford Albany Sr. .636

UTL Kiette Cooper Jena Fr. .392

UTLKeesley Ross Caldwell Sr. .375

UTL Hailey Peterson Haynes Academy Jr. .500

UTL Hope Tucker Sterlington Sr. .476



Honorable mention

Madisyn Smith, Sterlington; Callie Decker, Jena; Se’Marai “Rai Rai” Smith, Caldwell; Nolyn Bruyninckx, Caldwell Parish; Randi Clair Kelly, Caldwell Parish; Emorie Fontenot, South Beauregard; Ana Alexander, Iowa; Ashtyn Rogers, Patrick Taylor; Kylee Savant, Doyle; Cydney Parker, Jena; Camryn Becnel, E.D. White; Emma Brown, Sterlington; Camdyn Cooper, Albany; Megan Fuselier, Kinder; Haylee Dangerfield, Jena; Samantha Hayes, Kinder; Ella Hover, Berwick; Olivia Cortez, E.D. White; Allsion Brossett, Buckeye; Ava Kordish, Pine Prairie.