2023 LSWA Class 4A All-State Baseball & Softball Teams Announced

Written for the LSWA

Dominick Letort of Lakeshore and North DeSoto’s Aly Delafield headline the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 4A All-State baseball and softball teams.

Letort, a UNO signee, is the Outstanding Player on the baseball squad. He was a playoff star for the Titans, who made a Cinderella run to a Division II nonselect runner-up finish. Delafield, a Northwestern State signee, is the Outstanding Player on the softball squad. She  led the Griffins to a Division II nonselect title – their third LHSAA title in a row.

Chad Menard of Division II select baseball runner-up Vandebilt Catholic and Brad Woodard of Division I select softball runner-up Tioga claimed Coach of the Year honors on the teams selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Letort’s 6-4 pitching record with a 1.50 earned run average was deceptive. He was on the mound when the Titans won three elimination playoff games. Letort allowed just four earned runs in 21 playoff innings with 22 strikeouts, including 12 strikeouts in a semifinal win over Eunice.

Delafield was 14-1 in the circle with 131 strikeouts and a 1.54 ERA. She also batted .402 with five home runs and 32 RBI.

A year after graduating multiple starters from 2022 title team, Menard’s fifth-seeded VCHS squad upset top-seeded St. Louis in the semifinals. Tioga’s Woodard coached his team to the school’s first softball title-game berth since 1979.



P Aiden Leonard North Vermilion Sr. 8-1

P Marshall Louque Lutcher So. 8-1

P James Guidry Vandebilt So. 11-2

P Dominick Letort Lakeshore Sr. 6-4

C Robert Ashley North DeSoto Sr. .506

IF Kameron Mangum North DeSoto Sr. .498

IF Jaxon Bentzler Northshore So. .414

IF Tyson Leblanc North Vermilion Sr. .433

IF Cole Simoneaux Assumption So. 302

OF Kody Jackson Evangel Sr. .481

OF Luke Babin Lutcher Sr. .413

OF Eli Lirette Lakeshore Sr. .389

UTL Drew Daigle Brusly So. 470

UTL Michael Plummer Neville Sr. .389

UTL Julian Bourgeois Vandebilt Catholic Sr. .340

UTL Owen Simoneaux Assumption Sr. 7-1

UTL Noah Melancon St. Thomas More Sr. 7-4



Honorable mention

Reece Turner, Assumption; Drew Pitre, South Terrebonne; Jacob Curole, South Lafourche; Tanner Nguyen, Neville; Brady Martin, Tioga; Matthew Taylor, Tioga; BJ Nichols, Leesville; Carter Causey, Leesville; Braden Richardson, North Vermilion; Cade Robin, North Vermilion; Drake Detillier, South Terrebonne; Peyton Fulghum, Evangel; Cale Comeaux, Teurlings Catholic; Evan Rousseau, Assumption; Sam Odom, North DeSoto; Jakobe Jackson, Minden; Tyler Looney, Tioga; Cooper Martin, Lafayette Christian; Ryan Reeves, Tioga; Sutton Lewis, Neville; Tanner Hornbeck, St. Thomas More; Isaac Jabeley, Ben Franklin; Julyan Clarks, Shaw; Enrique Herazo, Willow; Zach Brisset. De La Salle; Evan Fruge, Eunice; Kade Hebert, Breaux Bridge.


P Aly Delafield North DeSoto Sr. 14-1

P Laney Johnson North DeSoto Jr. 19-1

P Ava Prejean St. Thomas More Sr. 19-0

P Lauren Baudoin Vandebilt Catholic Fr. 27-7

C Shayanne Irvin St. Thomas More .433

IF Aaliyah Gonzales Academy of Our Lady So. 405

IF Mia Norwood North DeSoto Jr. .472

IF Abbi Troquille Tioga Jr. .515

IF Raegan Henderson North DeSoto So. .449

OF Lailia Clark Brusly Jr. .484

OF Ella Mabile Assumption So. .424

OF Cheyenne Jenkins Hannan Jr. .354

UTL Christina Lambert Tioga Jr. 15-3

UTL Hays Ruttledge Vandebilt Catholic Fr. .458

UTL Gabbie Stutes St. Thomas More Sr. .515

UTL Gracie Toledano Academy of Our Lady Jr. .354

UTL Kennedy Stutes St. Thomas More Jr. .486



Honorable mention

Bryanne Davis, Morgan City; Samantha Fillinich, South Lafourche; Adna Crochet, Assumption,  Katlin Worsham, Neville; McKenna Howell, Grant; Katreal Earthly, Peabody; Kennedy Kelly, North Vermilion; Ani Comeaux, Rayne; Gabie Peri, De La Salle; Devyn Latiolais, Beau Chene; Amelia Bouvier, Brusly; Lexi Cambre, Lutcher; Kassidi Barthelemy, Belle Chasse; Haven Brooks, Evangel; Jailah Rideau, Beau Chene; Blair Ursin, Lutcher; Gabbi Olague, Evangel; Sanai Salvant, Belle Chasse; Jaci Camadelle, Academy of Our Lady; Zoe Roland, Tioga;  Gracie Pettway, Grant; Cloe Bonvillain, Beau Chene; Elle Carter, Neville; Landry McLamb, Caddo; Ari Townsend, St. Thomas More; Kynlee Madere, Lutcher; Kaitlyn Roberts, Tioga; Erin Werner Grant;  Ashunte Specks, Neville; Dyavani Battle, Belle Chasse; Corin Talbot, Vandebilt Catholic; Gabie Peri, De La Salle; Meia Tyler, Ben Franklin.