2023 LSWA Class 5A All-State Baseball & Softball Teams Released

By Warren Arceneaux // Written for the LSWA

Two perennial state powers, Barbe baseball and St. Amant softball, claimed state titles again this season with the help of standouts Donovan LaSalle and Addison Jackson, who rose to the occasion on the biggest stage.

LaSalle hit a go-ahead home run in Barbe’s championship game win to cap a stellar season, while Jackson allowed just one run over St. Amant’s two championship tournament games to help the Gators win a second straight championship.

For that, LaSalle and Jackson are the Outstanding Players on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Class 5A All-State teams.

LaSalle hit .510 on the season with 10 home runs, 43 runs batted in, 57 runs scored and 33 stolen bases. The final homer was a grand slam in a nine-run seventh inning that gave Barbe a 10-4 win over West Monroe in the Division I nonselect championship game.

Jackson went 32-2 as a pitcher with a 0.93 ERA, striking out 288 batters. At the plate, Jackson hit .521 with 28 home runs and 75 runs batted in.

Baseball Coach of the Year is Jesuit’s Kenny Goodlett, who led the Blue Jays to the Division I select title. Jesuit finished the season with a 31-7 record, capping an undefeated playoff run with a 1-0 win over Rummel in the championship game.

Katie Prescott of Live Oak is the softball Coach of the Year after guiding the Eagles to the semifinal round of the nonselect Division I playoffs. Live Oak finished the season with a 31-5 record, a 10-win improvement over last season. The Eagles outscored their first two playoff opponents 25-4 before losing to Sam Houston at the state tournament.



P Drew Ferguson West Monroe So. 10-1

P Landon Victorian Barbe Jr. 8-0

P Jake Brown Sulphur Sr. 10-2

P Giancarlo Arencibia Rummel Jr. 7-1

C Clayton Pourciau Catholic Sr. .402

IF Sam Ardoin Sam Houston Sr. .391

IF Mikey Ryan Rummel Jr. .411

IF Ryan Darrah Brother Martin So. .434

IF Hayden Federico West Monroe Jr. .420

OF John Pearson West Monroe Jr. .424

OF Lane Lusk Live Oak Sr. .472

OF Donovan Lasalle Barbe Sr. .510

UTL Joe Bordelon Alexandria Sr. 6-4

UTL William Good Jesuit Sr. 7-1

UTL Michael O’Brien John Curtis 6-1

UTL Alex Ainsworth Catholic Sr. 7-0

UTL Trey Hawsey West Monroe Jr. .397



Honorable mention

Bradyn Garner, West Monroe; Trent Anderson, West Monroe; Chris Clark, Alexandria; Wes Oates, Pineville; Grant Trahan, Barbe; Kasen Bellard, Barbe; Dillion Bird, Sulphur; Bryce Fontenot, Sulphur; Mason Canter, Central Lafourche; Trey Doucet, H.L. Bourgeois; Ethan Lovell, Terrebonne; Tyler Solar, Thibodaux; Justin Szymanski, Ruston; JR Tollett, Ruston; Bryce Wilson, Chalmette; Brock Davis, Live Oak; Cooper Smith, Live Oak; Kevin Robinson, Byrd; Austin Anderson, Haughton; Sawyer Simmons, Benton; Austin Lorenz, Alexandria; Brady Hoffman, Pineville; Nick Robinson, Ruston; Luke Benoit, Sulphur; Grayden Harris, Central; William Schmidt, Catholic; Swayer Pruitt, Live Oak; Bryce Pitts, Jesuit; Gavin Simeon, Brother Martin; Patrick Laiche, Brother Martin; Mason Estrada, Covington; Gates Barre, Jesuit; Branson Arceneaux, Thibodaux; Josh Eames, John Curtis; Walker Wicklund, Captain Shreve; Alex Dupuy, Natchitoches Central; Clayton Brandon, Airline; Gavin Nix, Rummel; Brock Laird, Natchitoches Central; Trenton Lape, Parkway; Barrett Newman, Parkway; Frank Randol, Brother Martin; Shane Lee, Destrehan; Kade Anderson, St. Paul’s; Drew Tomlin, Alexandria; Ean Rodrigue, Thibodaux; John Carmichael, Destrehan; Trip Dobson, Catholic; Dominic Pellegrin, Holy Cross; Steven Spalitta, Fontainebleau; Aiden  Grab, Mandeville.


P Lexi Dibbley Sam Houston Sr. 25-3

P Addison Jackson, St. Amant Sr. 32-2

P Maddie Robinson Natchitoches Central Sr. 24-6

P Kayla Giardina Chapelle Jr. 20-4

C Kayce Bennett Live Sr. .568

IF Mykail Lusco Dominican Sr. .447

IF Brielle Texada Alexandria Fr. .427

IF Mady Manning West Monroe Sr. .513

IF Alix Franklin St. Amant Jr. .544

OF Dayzja Williams Alexandria Sr. .492

OF Karli Sellers West Monroe Sr. .395

OF Kai Goodman John Curtis Jr. 504

UTL Bailey Henderson Pineville Sr. .426

UTL Sophia Romero Acadiana Sr. .411

UTL Brylie Fontenot Sam Houston Sr. .393

UTL Jenna Samuel Northshore Sr. 16-5

UTL Makinsey Elisar St. Amant Sr. .474



Honorable mention

Chloe Massey, West Monroe; Avery Freer, West Ouachita; Addison Eckert, West Ouachita; Bevan Hartnett, Pineville; Mary Claire Brinkman, Alexandria; Kailey Dwyer, Acadiana; Hannah Capello, Walker; Lily Domangue, Central Lafourche; Ja’Lise Stewart, Terrebonne; Jada Stoot, H.L. Bourgeois; Alyssa Naquin, Thibodaux; Baleigh Scott, Barbe; Emma Thomson, Sulphur; Claire Thompson, Alexandria; Katie Kempton John Curtis Jr.; Aubry Townsend, Captain Shreve; Avery Killan, Mount Carmel; Kelsie Schmidt; Chapelle; Gabby Miller, John Curtis; Elena Heng, Airline; Sophia Livers, Benton; Ariana Mathews, Haughton; Ella Vickers, Haughton; Kira Manganello, John Curtis; Christina Curtis, Ponchatoula; Delaney Trosclair, Chapelle; Jenna Cancienne, Hahnville; Kloe White, Hahnville; Madelyn Halle, Pineville; Bryalyn Waggoner, West Ouachita; Aubrey Hobbs, Sam Houston; Chloe Magee, Live Oak; Carolina Eidson, Sam Houston; Desi Robinson, Natchitoches Central; Emersyn Disotell, Benton; Paige Marshall, Airline; Bailey Nelson, Mount Carmel; Allie Domangue, Chapelle; Ella Bertucci, Dominican; Brilynn Singh, Ponchatoula; Cortlynn Bennett, Pineville; Caitlyn Riche, Walker; Aniya Harris, Chalmette.