Career Rushing Leader Trey Holly Highlights 2022 LSWA Class 3A All-State Team

BY JERIT ROSER // Written for the LSWA

A pair of record-setting, college-bound seniors lead the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s 2022 Class 3A all-state team.

Union Parish running back Trey Holly, an LSU signee, and University Lab linebacker Jaiden Ausberry, a Notre Dame signee, are the 2022 Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively.

Also, sixth-year Iowa coach Tommy Johns rounds out a history-making trio of superlative award-winners.

Holly shattered Louisiana’s career rushing record en route to his Farmers’ third straight state championship game.

The Union Parish star’s senior season of 2,694 yards and 38 touchdowns on 305 carries  — an average of 8.8 yards per attempt — brought his five-year totals to 10,523 yards and 146 touchdowns on the ground alone.

Holly racked up more than 12,600 all-purpose yards and 160 scores in all during his prep career.

Ausberry led his semifinalist Cubs with 133 tackles, including 16 for loss and three sacks, as well as two forced fumbles, one recovery, four pass breakups and a blocked kick.

The two-way standout finished his U-High career with a program-record 402 tackles. 

Johns and his staff coached the Yellow Jackets to a 9-1 regular season despite replacing nearly their entire starting lineups from the 2021 roster.

Iowa carried a seven-game winning streak into the playoffs as the Division II nonselect bracket’s top seed and won two more games to earn its first-ever semifinal appearance.



Pos Player school Ht. Wt. Cl

WR Harvey Broussard St. Martinville 6-3 175 Jr.

WR Khai Prean St. James 6-0 180 Sr.

WR Howard Kinchen Patterson 6-3 175 Sr.

OL Matthew Broussard E.D. White 6-4 280 Sr.

OL Trace Franklin Jena 5-7 230 Sr.

OL Dontae McNeil Kennedy 6-1 220 Sr.

OL Jace Philip St. James 6-1 270 Sr.

OL Mitch Hodnett Sterlington 6-6 285 Jr.

QB Brayden Williams St. James 6-1 190 Jr.

RB Steven Blanco St. Martinville 5-10 190 Jr.

RB Kaden Williams St. James 5-9 185 Sr.

RB Trey Holly Union 5-8 190 Sr.

PK Landon Daughdril St. Louis 5-11, 170, Jr.

ATH Ronald Young Iowa 6-0 190 Sr.


Pos Player school Ht. Wt. Cl

DL Kyron Labove Iowa 5-9 230 Sr

DL Deshaun Batiste Kennedy 6-3 240 Sr.

DL KeShawn Reed Richwood 6-3 258 Sr.

DL Tyquerius Wilson Union 5-11 170 So.

LB Braxton Comeaux E.D. White 6-0 220 Sr. 

LB Daylon Sibley LC College Prep 6-0 215 Sr.

LB Jaiden Ausberry University 6-2 215 Sr.

LB LaTravion Christian Carroll 5-8 205 Sr.

DB Jadan Aubert St. James 5-11 185 Sr.

DB Zander Smith Buckeye 5-11 160 Sr.

DB David Jones Madison Prep 6-1, 190 Sr.

DB Cam Hill Union 6-3 195 Sr.

P John Michael Eves Bunkie 5-5 175 Sr.

KR Matthew Melancon E.D. White 6-0 180 Sr.

ATH Keylan Moses University 6-3 195 So.





Kobe Brown, St. James; Braye Therence, St. James; Jacob Guin, E.D. White; Caylon Davis, Patterson; Jayden Milton, Berwick; Zack Gonzales, Berwick; CJ Roquemore, Caldwell Parish; Kevon Freeman, LC College Prep; Tristan Goodly, Westlake; Kristian Ozane, Westlake; Simeon Powell, Amite; Jalen Robinson, Amite; Tylon Johnson, Madison Prep; Tyler Cherry, Abbeville; Christian Pillette, Erath; Caden Campisi, Kaplan; Seth Gale, University; John Barr, Sterlington; Damian Reed, Iowa; John Hebert, University; James Reina, St. Louis; Christopher Armstrong, Kennedy; Ashton Levi, Bogalusa; Tylon Citizen, Church Point; Jeffery Diedrich, E.D. White; Jayden Milton, Berwick; Zerrick Jones, Jena; Jaquan Glover, Kennedy; Amareya Greeley, Carroll; Ashton Terrell, Amite; Blake Abney, University; Tezarron Stewart, Abbeville; Aiden Clements, E.D. White; Jeremy Robertson, Amite; Gerkerius Byrd, Jena; Javon Smith, Caldwell Parish; Anthony Oatis, Richwood;  Jack Moore, Sterlington; Dayton Boone, Iota; DeAndre Videau, St. James; Graham Montet, St. Louis; Ethan Koonce, Westlake; Keyshawn Manning, Bogalusa; Harry Beacham, University; Micah Johnson, Parkview Baptist; Sam Farmer IV, Wossman; Erick Franklin, LC College Prep; Jayleen Butler, Richwood; Luke Duhon, Iota; Chad Nolan, Abbeville; DeMardrick Blunt, Carroll.