By Chris Singleton // Written for the LSWA

Sterlington and Jena won the LHSAA’s Class 3A titles in baseball and softball. So, it is fitting to have players from each school headline the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 3A All-State softball and baseball teams.

Parker Coley, an LSU-Eunice signee, was voted the Outstanding Player on the LSWA’s baseball squad after leading Sterlington to its second straight Class 3A state baseball crown.

Coley batted .448 and hit nine home runs with 54 RBIs, 11 doubles and a triple. The senior outfielder was 22 of 23 on stolen base attempts and committed only three errors in the field.

Tori Shirley, a junior first baseman, claimed the Outstanding Player honor on the LSWA’s softball squad. She helped guide Jena to the first 3A softball title in school history with a .491 batting average to go with nine home runs, 52 RBIs, .530 on-base percentage and .907 slugging percentage.

For leading their teams to LHSAA titles, Jena’s Sarah Roark and St. Louis Catholic’s Matt Fontenot were chosen as the LSWA’s 3A Coaches of the Year recipients. It was the first LHSAA title for both coaches.

Roark guided Jena past Iowa 12-10 in the Class 3A title game on May 1. It was one of eight wins in which Jena (25-8) grabbed the lead in the fifth inning or later this season.

Fontenot helped St. Louis (25-12) win its fourth baseball title in program history and first since 2011. St. Louis defeated Parkview Baptist 6-3 in the Division II final.

Joining Shirley on the Class 3A softball first-team was her Jena teammate in utility player Janasia Jones.

Sterlington pitcher Brandon Brewer and infielder Seaver Sheets joined Coley on the baseball first-team. St. Louis pitcher Parker Morgan and first baseman Evan Joubert were also first-team selections.

Archbishop Hannan, the Division II state softball champion, had a first-team selection in catcher Sydnie Ferrant.



P Carina Chargois Kaplan Sr. 15-3

P Katie Haynes Sterlington Sr. 13-8

P McKenna Howell Grant So. 18-4

P Allie Bland Lutcher Jr. 19-8

C Sydnie Ferrant Hannan Fr. .388

IF Emi McGehee Grant Sr. 464

IF Tori Shirley Jena Jr. .491

IF Morgan Eaves South Beauregard Jr. .505

IF Ana Alexander Iowa So. .590

OF Hope Tucker Sterlington So. .389

OF Kamryn Broussard Iowa So. .477

OF Hailey Peterson Haynes Academy Fr. .372

UT Janasia Jones Jena Sr. .439

UT Maycie Hardy Pine Prairie Sr. .500

UT Mallory Stevens Sterlington So. .479

UT Delaney Walker Haynes Academy Jr. 16-5

UT Aubrynn Arcement Thomas Jefferson Jr. .512



Honorable mention: Alyssa Fish, North Webster, Sr.; Arlee Darbonne, Iowa; Bentley Richard, Iowa; Karagan Howard, Iowa; Calee Guillory, Iowa; Lesley Lebleu, Iowa; Jadyn Dauzart, Buckeye; Olivia Henry, Buckeye; Alli Brunson, Jena; Kennedy Marceaux, Kaplan;  Molly Sistrunk, Kaplan; Lauryn Packard, Kaplan; Morgan Malveaux, David Thibodaux; Greta Fontenot, Iota; Bronwyn Colbert, Berwick; Haley Spears, Grant; Kamryn Howard, Iowa; Katie Salling, Parkview Baptist; Kennedy Marceaux, Kaplan; Gracie Pettway, Grant; Alexis Dale Hannan; Aubrie Claverie, Haynes Academy; Britt Bourgoyne, Brusly; Maria Detillier, Lutcher; Camryn Becnel, E.D. White; Mikah Ortiz, Berwick; Shelby Edgeworth, Buckeye; Melissa Lopera, Haynes Academy; Asia George, Pine Prairie; Lailia Clark, Brusly; Chakirrious Parker, St. James.


P Brandon Brewer Sterlington Sr. 12-1

P Parker Morgan St. Louis Sr. 10-3

P Dylan Bergeron E.D. White Sr. 7-3

P Ryan Harland Parkview Baptist Sr. 10-1

C Braxton Comeaux E.D. White So. .464

IF Brennan Holt Parkview Baptist Sr. .469

IF Seaver Sheets Sterlington Sr. .409

IF Evan Joubert St. Louis Sr. .345

IF Tyler LeJeune Iota Jr. .458

OF Patrick Coley Sterlington Sr. .448

OF Brady Pederson Westlake Sr. .385

OF Caleb Stelly Parkview Baptist Sr. .385

UT Blake Windham Jena Sr. .461

UT Kyle St. Pierre Lutcher Sr. 8-2

UT Gavin LeBlanc Iota Sr. 6-1

UT Coleman Beeson Bossier Sr. .543

UT Britton Coleman South Beauregard Sr. 10-1



Honorable mention: Kane Gill, Westlake; Gavin Johnson, Westlake; Keagan Aaron, Marksville; Reid Snider, St. Louis; John Reina, St. Louis; Dawson Wallace, Iota; Nick Duplechain, Iota; Matthew Melancon, E.D. White Catholic; Charlie Hunt, E.D. White Catholic; Josiah Jennings, Patterson; Clay Menard, Berwick; Mason Johnston, Berwick; Branton Vicknair, E.D. White Catholic; Alec Mahler, St. James; Brandon Boudreaux, E.D. White Catholic; Grant Roberts, Patrick Taylor; Rett Bowman, South Beauregard; Christian Champlin, Jena; Brock Slaton, University; Charles Keith, South Beauregard; Michael Curry, Brusly; Jaron Townsend, Caldwell; Dezmon Dugas, Iowa; Cameron Lavergne, Iowa; Matthew Melancon, E.D. White; Clay Menard, Berwick; Jadikus Johnson, Jena; Cade Labruyere, Iowa; Dawson Wallace, Iota; Charlie Hunt, E.D. White; Brady Parker, Grant; Gaven Jones, Buckeye; Jacob Mercer, Grant; Nick Duplechain, Iota; John Shahrdar, Loyola; Nathan Lirette, Loyola; Hunter Ponson, Parkview Baptist.