Stacy Ballew Named Byrd Head Football Coach

SHREVEPORT – For the first time in over two decades, C.E. Byrd High School will have a new head football coach patrolling the sidelines in the fall.

Byrd principal Gerry Badgley released an announcement Sunday afternoon naming Byrd assistant coach Stacy Ballew to the top job.

Ballew replaces legendary coach Mike Suggs, who retired last month following a 22-year tenure at the Shreveport school.

It’s an honor to be selected as the next head football coach at Byrd,” said Ballew. “I’m excited about our future and continuing the tradition of developing and molding kids into great young men.”

The transition from an assistant to head coach will be different but one of ease for Ballew who has been on staff at Byrd since 2002. The former Yellow Jacket player has served as the program’s defensive coordinator and was essential in leading the team to Division I state championship appearances in 2013 and 2020.

Ballew started his coaching career on the Byrd sidelines where he served as an assistant for four seasons before taking a job at Granbury High School in 2001.

In other coaching news around the state, Matt Middleton moves over to Cedar Creek as head coach after in the same position at West Ouachita the last few years. Buster Duplissey stepped down at Caldwell Parish and named Spartan defensive coordinator Jimmy Sampson as his replacement.

Vinnie Bullara was promoted to head coach at Catholic-PC following the departure of David Simoneaux, who took over the head job at Catholic-BC. Eric Holdon replaces Doug Dotson at Comeaux while Kyron Benoit moved up to the head coaching role at Crowley.

Northwood-Lena head football coach Justin Webb stepped down to take over as defensive coordinator at Pineville High School while Charlie Cryer also resigned from Pope John Paul II. Philip Piggot takes over the Jaguars program after serving at Biloxi High School.

St. Michael head coach Joey Sanchez stepped down and moved over to Walker High School where he will serve as athletic director. Offensive coordinator Zach Lege takes over the reins for the program starting the fall.

Breaux Bridge is currently interviewing candidates for its head coaching position while Westminster Academy is set to name a replacement during the coming week.

Northwood-Lena will conduct interviews this week for its head coaching position and North Central will close the application process on April 16

Below is a list of schools that have found or are currently searching for a new head football coach. A special thanks to Alex Newell for helping to compile the list.


SchoolFormer CoachNew Coach
AlbanyMike JanisDavid Knight, Albany DC
BogalusaAdam BrumfieldCyril Crutchfield, Broadmoor HC
Breaux BridgeChad Pourciau
BroadmoorCyril CrutchfieldJacobi Theirry, former North Central HC
Caldwell ParishBuster DuplisseyJimmy Sampson, Caldwell Parish DC
Catholic-BRGabe FertittaDavid Simoneaux, Catholic-PC HC
Catholic-PCDavid SimoneauxVinnie Bullara, Catholic-PC OC
C.E. ByrdMike SuggsStacey Ballew, C.E. Byrd DC
Cedar CreekShannon BrownMatt Middleton, West Ouachita HC
ComeauxDoug DotsonEric Holden, former St. John/Berwick HC
CrowleyJeptha WallKyron Benoit, Crowley DC
De La SalleRyan ManaleGraham Jarrott, Rummel OC
EltonDonnie Bruchhaus
Green OaksTerrence Isaac, Sr.Chadwick Lewis, Port Allen OC
HigginsBrandon ThibodeauxClifford Harris, John Ehret AC
JesuitScott BairnsfatherRyan Manale, De La Salle HC
Kaplan Tank Lotief
Lafayette ChristianJacarde Carter
Livingston CollegiateBlake Thompson
Madison ParishLandry Carter
McKinleyRichard OliverMalcolm Reed, St. Amant AC
North CentralOliver Thierry
NortheastDavid MastersonDevyn Baker, Liberty DC
NorthshoreJosh BuelleBobby Sanders, Northshore OC
Northwood-LenaJustin Webb
Pearl RiverJoe HarrisMike LaBourdette, Pearl River DC
Pine PrairieDavid-Michael CarrellRichard Clark, Pine Prairie interim HC
PinevilleDarin MooreBryant Bell, Tioga DC
Pope John Paul IICharlie CryerPhilip Pigot, Biloxi (MS) DC
Sam HoustonChad PaulkChad Davis, Sam Houston OC
Slaughter CharterCraig Kuester
Sophie B. WrightDennis ChristopherKenneth Dorsey, B.T. Washington-NO AC
St. CharlesFrank MonicaWayne Stein, St. Charles DC
St. JohnEric HoldenCoby Minton, Central Catholic OC
St. MichaelJoey SanchezZach Lege, St. Michael OC
VarnadoMilton GreenAdam Brumfield, Bogaulsa HC
Washington-MarionToriano WilliamsJules Sullen, former Hamilton Christian HC
West St. MaryClifton Amelin
Westminster ChristianPatrick Clarkston
Woodlawn-SHC.J. ByrdThedrick Harris, former Marshall, TX HC