Who are the winningest prep football coaches in Louisiana? Find an updated list here!

by Hunter Bower, GeauxPreps.com Owner

The Louisiana Sports Writers Association has released its updated list of Louisiana’s all-time winningest football coaches prior to the start of the 2023 season.

Among the highlights are the active tenures of the state’s three winningest coaches. Legendary coach and the state’s wins leader, J.T. Curtis, is on the brink of history as he stands just seven wins shy of becoming the nation’s all-time winningest high school football coach. Summerville (SC) High School’s John McKissick holds the nation’s all-time mark with 621 career victories. Curtis became the first coach in Louisiana history to surpass the 600-win mark in 2021 with a 37-16 win over Archbishop Shaw.

Also included is St. Thomas More’s Jim Hightower who sits at 460 total wins while Notre Dame’s Lewis Cook needs only 8 wins to reach 400 career total victories.

Haynesville’s David Franklin etched his name into the history books last season as he became the 57th coach in Louisiana prep football history to win 200 games in his career. Franklin joins his father, Alton “Red” Franklin, as the only father-son duo to win 200 or more games in the history of high school football in Louisiana.

Other active coaches who are members of the elite 200-win club are Archbishop Shaw’s Hank Tierney (309), Ouachita Christian’s Steven Fitzhugh (240), North DeSoto’s Dennis Dunn (234), and Vandebilt Catholic’s Tommy Minton (225).

LSWA’s Louisiana Prep Football’s All-Time Wins List

Prior to 2023 Season
J.T. Curtis*John Curtis54615776.885698
Jim Hightower*Catholic-PC, St. Thomas More494601331.774595
Lewis Cook*Rayne, Crowley, Notre Dame36392920.810484
Alton “Red” FranklinHaynesville35365769.821450
Don Shows**Farmerville, Jonesboro-Hodge, Pineville, West Monroe32345780.816423
Dale WeinerSt. John, Trafton, Catholic-PC, Catholic-BR353171090.744426
Vic DalrympleOak Grove323121020.754414
Racer Holstead**Tallulah, Tallulah Academy413101558.664473
Hank Tierney*West Jefferson, Ponchatoula, Archbishop Shaw353091230.715432
Dick McCloskey**Hanson Memorial392861416.667433
Frank MonicaLutcher, Riverside, Jesuit, St. Charles30284910.757375
George “Dee” FairclothVidalia452741976.581477
Dutton Wall**Port Sulphur, Welsh, Sacred Heart-VP382731532.640428
Johnny Buck**Kinder, Opelousas Catholic362711327.670410
L.J. “Hoss” Garrett**Arcadia, Ruston3927012219.680411
Tim DetillierSt. Charles, Lutcher302661120.704378
David CurrierKentwood, Bowling Green312641120.702376
Charlie Brown**Neville30263666.794335
Joe Keller**Reserve382627315.770350
Lewis Murray**Bogalusa, Bowling Green352591237.675389
Donnie PerronPort Sulphur, Port Barre29257930.734350
Jack Salter**Covington342561108.695374
Donald CurrierWoodland, West Feliciana, Franklinton, Amite312541111.695366
Wayne Reese**B.T. Washington, Carver, Washington-Marion, McDonogh 35392521880.573440
Carroll DelahoussayeSt. Martinville28246921.727339
Jimmie Morris**Welsh, Loranger312431360.641379
Steven Fitzhugh*Ouachita Christian24240780.755318
Jimmy ShaverBarbe272381000.704338
James Waguespack**St. James, Cecilia, Beau Chene352381580.601396
Bobby McHalffrey**Ferriday, Haughton, Plain Dealing Academy352371272.650366
Paul TrosclairEunice262371070.689344
Travis Farrar**Springhill322361109.677355
Don JonesWisner, Sterlington, Plaquemine, Crowley, Woodlawn-BR, Patterson352361463.617385
Dennis Dunn*Woodlawn-SH, Evangel, Pineville, North DeSoto24234740.760308
Henry Crosby**Lincoln, West Jefferson, Douglass31229930.711322
Larry DauteriveWinnfield, E. Ascension, Riverside, Opelousas Catholic, East St. John, Opelousas26228851.728314
Raymond Peace**Sicily Island26228585.792291
Jay RothArchbishop Rummel23228580.797286
Laury DupontThibodaux, West St. John, Vandebilt Catholic272271010.692328
Roman Bates**Capitol, Christian Life352251586.586389
Tommy Minton*Plaquemine, Central Catholic, Vandebilt Catholic292251160.660341
Lee Hedges**Byrd, Woodlawn-SH, Captain Shreve282169210.695318
Parry LaLandeSouth Cameron282151011.680317
Rusty PhelpsNewellton, Jennings272141460.594360
Woody Boyles**Oak Grove, River Oaks312108310.710303
Max Caldarera**Westlake342101650.560375
David Franklin*Haynesville21207620.770269
Charles BaglioIndependence22206610.772267
Elton ShawAssumption, Kentwood, Jewel Sumner, Valley Forge292061095.652320
Lucas “Buddy” MarcelloVandebilt Catholic, South Terrebonne3120510512.655322
Charles “Hoss” Newman**Lake Providence, Winnfield, Benton, Trinity Heights322051197.630331
Keith “Moose” MunyanMangham, LaSalle27204936.683303
Bobby Conlin**Brother Martin272031005.667308
Tony ReginelliNewman26203630.763266
Kirk CrochetLoreauville282011220.622323
Robert HannahRiver Oaks272011130.640314
Mike MowadBreaux Bridge26200980.671298
* Active Coach • **Deceased