2021 Louisiana High School Football Coaching Carousel Update

LAKE CHARLES — Landry Carter has been hired as the new head coach at Delhi High School.

Carter previously served as the head coach at Madison Parish for three seasons before departing for Delhi. He replaces Ramon Lusk, who pulled double-duty as the football and basketball coach for the Bears.

Landry led Madison Parish to the first-round of last season’s football playoffs.

St. Louis Catholic High School is seeking a new leader for its football program following the departure of Chad Lavergne.

Lavergne led the St. Louis football program for three seasons where he compiled a 16-16 overall record. His best season came in 2019 when he helped lead the Saints to a 9-3 mark and an appearance in the semifinals, the school’s first since 1978.

Ouachita Parish is set to close its application for a new coach on Friday, May 7. Retiring principal Larry Long reported that a replacement would be named soon after a new principal was hired.

D’Arbonne Woods parted ways with Thomas McBroom, the school confirmed on Friday. A search for a new head coach is underway.

Pickering’s Ryan Russo stepped down as the head football coach on Friday. The school will announce a replacement in the coming weeks.

Madison Parish principal Lucille Lovette told GeauxPreps.com that interviews for a new head coach had concluded and that a recommendation has been made to the school board. However, no other information was shared regarding the hire.

Mike Collins was named as the new defensive coordinator at Neville High School, the school announced last week. Collins has served in various defensive roles on coaching staffs at LSU, McNeese, Northwestern State, Sam Houston State and most recently as a defensive coordinator at ULM.

Northwood-Lena was set to announce a new head football coach this week but no name has been announced as of publication time. The school has been seeking to replace Justin Webb who left for a coordinator position at Pineville.

Below is a list of schools that have found or are currently searching for a new head football coach. A special thanks to Alex Newell for helping to compile the list.


SchoolFormer CoachNew Coach
AlbanyMike JanisDavid Knight, Albany DC
Acension CatholicBenny Saia
BogalusaAdam BrumfieldCyril Crutchfield, Broadmoor HC
Breaux BridgeChad PourciauTank Lotief, former Kaplan HC
BroadmoorCyril CrutchfieldJacobi Theirry, former North Central HC
Caldwell ParishBuster DuplisseyJimmy Sampson, Caldwell Parish DC
Catholic-BRGabe FertittaDavid Simoneaux, Catholic-PC HC
Catholic-PCDavid SimoneauxVinnie Bullara, Catholic-PC OC
C.E. ByrdMike SuggsStacey Ballew, C.E. Byrd DC
Cedar CreekShannon BrownMatt Middleton, West Ouachita HC
ComeauxDoug DotsonEric Holden, former St. John/Berwick HC
CrowleyJeptha WallKyron Benoit, Crowley DC
D’Arbonne WoodsThomas McBroom
De La SalleRyan ManaleGraham Jarrott, Rummel OC
DelhiRamon LuskLandry Carter, former Madison Parish head coach
EltonDonnie BruchhausMarcus Lejeune, St. Louis OC
Green OaksTerrence Isaac, Sr.Chadwick Lewis, Port Allen OC
HigginsBrandon ThibodeauxClifford Harris, John Ehret AC
JesuitScott BairnsfatherRyan Manale, De La Salle HC
Kaplan Tank LotiefCory Brodie, Vermilion Catholic DC
Lafayette ChristianJacarde Carter
Livingston CollegiateBlake ThompsonDevon Francois, Sophie B. Wright DC
Madison ParishLandry Carter
McKinleyRichard OliverMalcolm Reed, St. Amant AC
North CentralOliver Thierry
NortheastDavid MastersonDevyn Baker, Liberty DC
NorthshoreJosh BuelleBobby Sanders, Northshore OC
Northwood-LenaJustin Webb
Ouachita ParishJeff Fitzgerald
Pearl RiverJoe HarrisMike LaBourdette, Pearl River DC
PickeringRyan Russo
Pine PrairieDavid-Michael CarrellRichard Clark, Pine Prairie interim HC
PinevilleDarin MooreBryant Bell, Tioga DC
Pope John Paul IICharlie CryerPhilip Pigot, Biloxi (MS) DC
Sam HoustonChad PaulkChad Davis, Sam Houston OC
Slaughter CharterCraig Kuester
Sophie B. WrightDennis ChristopherKenneth Dorsey, B.T. Washington-NO AC
St. CharlesFrank MonicaWayne Stein, St. Charles DC
St. JohnEric HoldenCoby Minton, Central Catholic OC
St. LouisChad Lavergne
St. MichaelJoey SanchezZach Lege, St. Michael OC
Vandebilt CatholicLance Ledet
VarnadoMilton GreenAdam Brumfield, Bogaulsa HC
Washington-MarionToriano WilliamsJules Sullen, former Hamilton Christian HC
West OuachitaMatt MiddletonMike Rainwater, West Ouachita OC
West St. MaryClifton Amelin
Westminster ChristianPatrick ClarkstonTravis Blaize, Vermilion Catholic OC
Woodlawn-SHC.J. ByrdThedrick Harris, former Marshall, TX HC