LSWA Class 2A All-State Football Team

by Lamar Gafford // Written For The LSWA

As one team continued its string of dominance in Division III, another got back on top of the Class 2A mountain after hitting roadblocks deep into the playoffs.

Lafayette Christian athlete/return specialist Sage Ryan and Many defensive back Tackett Curtis led their teams to titles at the LHSAA Prep Classic and also received top honors on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 2A All-State football team.

Ryan, an LSU signee, did just about everything for the Knights en route to winning Class 2A Most Outstanding Offensive Player — accounting for 1,074 yards and 19 touchdowns on just 81 touches. LCA claimed its second straight Division III title and fourth LHSAA title in a row.

With Ryan locking up the athlete and return specialist spots, offensive lineman Micah Miller, kicker Louis Davies, defensive lineman Fitzgerald West and defensive back Brylan Green also represented LCA on the first team.

Curtis, a sophomore who is already picking up Power 5 offers, had 92 tackles and four interceptions to earn Class 2A Most Outstanding Defensive Player.

Running back and UL-Lafayette commitment Terrence Williams and offensive lineman Ethan Knippers joined Curtis as Many’s representatives on the first team.

While LCA and Many won titles, General Trass coach Toriano Wells won Class 2A Coach of Year for leading the Panthers to their first semifinal in 57 years.

That Panther squad was led by senior Jaloni Grey, who had 75 tackles, 6 sacks, 3 forced fumbles and 2 fumble recoveries. Grey was named to the LSWA Class 2A team as a defensive lineman.



Pos Player School Ht. Wt. Cl.

WR Tae Gayden Mangham 6-2 178 Sr.

WR A.J. Johnson Newman 6-3 200 Jr.

WR Omarion Miller North Caddo 6-2 196 So.

OL Chase Underwood Mangham 6-3 255 Sr.

OL Bo Bordelon Newman 6-5 250 Jr.

OL Ethan Knippers Many 5-11 191 Sr.

OL Micah Miller Lafayette Christian 6-0 235 Jr.

OL Adam Azmeh Episcopal 5-10 190 Sr.

QB Kaleb Pleasant Mangham 6-1 180 Sr.

RB Daminya Milligan Ferriday 5-8 170 Sr.

RB KK Reno Catholic-NI 6-0 190 Jr.

RB Terrence Williams Many 6-1 228 Sr.

PK Louis Davies Lafayette Christian 5-9 165 Sr.

ATH Sage Ryan Lafayette Christian 5-11 195 Sr.


Pos Player School Ht. Wt. Cl.

DL Jaloni Grey General Trass 6-5 172 Sr.

DL Austin Sybrandt Episcopal 6-2 205 Sr.

DL Kaiden Jones St. Charles 5-11 240 Jr.

DL Fitzgerald West Lafayette Christian 6-2 310 Jr.

LB Joe Williams Mangham 5-10 215 Sr.

LB Trenton Bono Kinder 5-9 190 Sr.

LB Trey Heard North Caddo 6-0 230 Sr.

LB Mandel Eugene St. Charles 6-1 205 Sr.

DB Isaiah Jason South Plaquemines 5-9 180 Sr.

DB Bryce Laughlin Kinder 5-9 175 Sr.

DB Brylan Green Lafayette Christian 5-11 175 Jr.

DB Tackett Curtis Many 6-2 195 So.

KR Sage Ryan Lafayette Christian 5-11 195 Sr.

P Parker Sanchez Episcopal 6-0 160 Sr.




Honorable mention

J’Waun Turner, General Trass; Wydett Williams, General Trass; J.T. Smith, Mangham; Cameron Wilmore, Mangham; Elijah White, Ferriday; Ethan Frey, Rosepine; Zequarrius “Cadillac” Rhone, Many; Ethan Lovely, Menard; Matt Remondet, Ascension Episcopal; Oliver Jack, Episcopal; Jacoby Howard, Port Allen; Gharin Stansbury, Franklin; Jarvyea Campbell, General Trass; DeShawn Jackson, Pickering; Luke Yuhasz, Notre Dame; Mekeyle Franklin, Port Allen; Will Randle, Newman; Ruston West, St. Charles; Bryce Edgerson, South Plaquemines; Dylan John, Kinder; Jared LaFluer, Kinder; Clay Ancelet, Ascension Episcopal; Boyd Gray, Notre Dame; Jarmoin Griffin, North Caddo; Terry Augustine, Avoyelles; Arch Manning, Newman; Charzay Morris, North Caddo; Dylan Mehrotra, Episcopal; DeMontrell Quinn, General Trass; Donald Smith, South Plaquemines; Tylan Ceasar, Kinder; Grant Ducote, Rosepine; Carlos Bazert Avoyelles; London Williams, Many; Ryan Armwood, Episcopal; Zach Vicknair, St. Charles; Dee Fontenot, Kinder; Kylyn Lewis, Ferriday; Brandon White, Kinder; Collin South, Kinder; Gabe Leonards, Notre Dame; Matt Remondet, Ascension Episcopal; Mason Boutte, Catholic-NI; Donta Boxley, Ferriday; Gavin Johnson, Kinder; Lance Castille, Notre Dame; Carson Stiles, Catholic-NI; Bryan Patout, Loreauville; Markel Norris, General Trass; Kobe Johnson, Ferriday; Sterling Scott, Newman; Jordan Allen, Lafayette Christian; Caleb Comeaux, Notre Dame; Calep Jacob, Loreauville;  Collin Jacob, Loreauville; Bryce Savant, Kinder; Joe Brown, Notre Dame; Josh Koeppel, Newman; Will Hardie, Newman.